After your case

After your case finishes, you may still have some unresolved issues. For example, even if you have a Settlement Agreement or an Order from the CAT, the other User may not follow it or do what they have to do.

Depending on how your case was closed, you will have different options available to you. This page provides general information about those options. If you need more detailed information about your case, you may wish to speak with a lawyer or paralegal for advice on what you should do. The CAT cannot give you specific advice about what you need to do after your case has been closed.

Settlement agreement

If you and the other User resolved the case and received a Settlement Agreement, both Users must comply with it. However, if a User does not comply with the agreement, you can file a new case with the CAT for an order that would require them to comply.

Order, Decision, or Consent order

If you received an order, decision, or consent order from the CAT, both Users must comply with it. However, if a User does not comply with the order, then you may need to enforce the order.

For more information about enforcing an order, please read the Enforcing an order section below.

Dismissal

If your case was dismissed because you missed a deadline or did not respond to the CAT’s instructions, you may be able to re-file. That is because the CAT may not have made an order or decision on the issues that you raised.

If your case was dismissed because the issues that you raised were outside of the jurisdiction of the CAT, you may wish to seek legal advice before you try to file again.

Withdrawal

If your case was closed because you withdrew, you can likely re-file your case with the CAT. That is because the CAT has not made an order or decision on the issues that you raised.

Enforcing an order

Enforcement takes place through the courts and not through the CAT. The CAT cannot assist you with enforcing an order you received.

You may need to enforce your order in one of two places: either through Small Claims Court or the Superior Court of Justice. As of January 1, 2010, the Small Claims Court has a monetary limit of $25,000. For amounts greater than $25,000, you will need to enforce your order at the Ontario Superior Court of Justice.

The Small Claims Court is a branch of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice.

If you would like to enforce an order, you may wish to review the guidebook called After Judgment: Guide to Getting Results that describes the enforcement procedures that are available at Small Claims Court.

Appeals and Applications for Judicial Review

If you think that the Condominium Authority Tribunal (CAT) has made an error in an order or decision, there are two ways that you can ask the court to review that order/decision:

  1. Filing an appeal of the CAT’s decision with the Divisional Court
  2. Filing an application for a judicial review of the CAT’s decision with the Divisional Court.

Filing an appeal or an application for judicial review can be complicated, time-consuming, and costly.If you are thinking about filing an application for judicial review, you may want to seek the advice of a legal professional.

Note:This webpage provides general information on these two processes and how to ask for the decision to be reviewed. It should not be read or interpreted as legal advice. If you want legal advice, you should consult a person licensed by the Law Society of Ontario.

Appealing Decisions of the CAT

What is an appeal?

Under the Condominium Act, 1998 (“the Act”), a party to a case at the CAT can appeal a decision or order issued by the CAT to the Divisional Court on a question of law under Section 1.46(2) of the Act.

Because the Act says that you can only file an appeal on a question of law, you cannot file an appeal just because you do not like the outcome. You will not have an opportunity to re-argue your case during your appeal. Instead, your appeal must relate to an error you think the CAT made in applying the legislation or a legal principle in your case (e.g., if you think the CAT misinterpreted or misapplied the legislation).

Appeal deadline

Appeals must be filed within 30 days of the date of the order or decision, which you can find at the top and bottom of the order or decision document. The CAT does not have the authority to extend this period.

Filing an appeal

To file an appeal, you will need to file a Notice of Appeal with the Divisional Court, which is a branch of the Superior Court of Justice. The Court has rules which you will have to follow, including rules about which forms to use, the timelines you have to meet, and how to deliver documents.

Information about the appeals process, and copies of the forms you will need to file your appeal, are available on the Ministry of the Attorney General’s website. You should also review the Ministry of the Attorney General’s Guide to Appeals in Divisional Court.

For general telephone inquiries, you can call the Ministry of the Attorney General at 1-800-518-7901.

Case record

When filing your appeal, you may be required to submit a copy of the record of your case. To request a copy of the record of your case, you can to send us an email at: catinfo@condoauthorityontario.ca.

To obtain transcripts of any portion of a CAT hearing that took place outside of the CAT’s online dispute resolution system, you will need to contact a certified court reporter. The CAT will send the hearing recording directly to the court reporter you chose. Arrangements for the cost and delivery of the transcript are made between you and the court reporter.

Important points to remember

  • Appeals of a CAT decision or order may only be made on a question of law.
  • If you file an appeal, you must comply with the rules and procedures of the Divisional Court.
  • You have only 30 days from the date the decision was issued to file your appeal.

Filing a Judicial Review of a CAT Decision

What is an application for judicial review?

A party to a CAT case can file a judicial review of the CAT’s decision with Divisional Court under the Judicial Review Procedure Act (JRPA).

A judicial review will typically focus on the process and procedures that the CAT followed in holding the hearing and/or in reaching its decision (e.g., if the users were not given an opportunity to present evidence on a relevant issue or if the CAT concluded that something did or didn’t happen without any evidence to support at that conclusion).

Under the JRPA, the court has the power to set aside a decision of the CAT if it decides that the CAT has made an error of law, if it has made a finding in the absence of evidence, or where the CAT has assumed or exercised a power that is not granted to it under the Condominium Act, 1998

Application for judicial review deadline

There is no time limit for filing a judicial review in the JRPA or the Rules of Civil Procedure. Instead, the Court can choose to dismiss an application for judicial review because it is delayed. This means that you should act quickly if you are thinking about filing an application for judicial review.

Generally, you may want to file your application within 30 days of the date of the CAT’s decision.

Case record

When filing an application for judicial review, you may be required to submit a copy of the record of your case. To request a copy of the record of your case, you can to send us an email at: catinfo@condoauthorityontario.ca

To obtain transcripts of any portion of a CAT hearing that took place outside of the CAT’s online dispute resolution system, you will need to contact a certified court reporter. The CAT will send the hearing recording directly to the court reporter you chose. Arrangements for the cost and delivery of the transcript are made between you and the court reporter.

Important points to remember

  • The purpose of an application for judicial review is to ensure the CAT has followed the law in reaching its decision and that everyone had a fair opportunity to participate, not to re-argue your case.
  • If you file an application for judicial review, you must comply with the rules and procedures of the Divisional Court.
  • There is no firm deadline for filing an application for judicial review, but applications can be dismissed if the court believes they are being filed unduly late.

Skip to Main Content

Après la fermeture du dossier

Une fois votre affaire fermée, il se peut que certaines questions demeurent non résolues. Par exemple, même si vous avez établi un accord de règlement ou que vous avez une ordonnance émise par le TASC, il se peut que l’autre utilisateur ne s’y soumette pas.

Selon la façon dont votre affaire a été fermée, vous avez différentes options à votre disposition. Cette page vous fournira quelques renseignements généraux à leur sujet. Si vous avez besoin de plus amples renseignements au sujet de votre affaire particulière, vous voudrez peut-être vous adresser à un avocat ou un technicien juridique pour connaître les options possibles. Le TASC ne peut vous prodiguer de conseils précis sur la marche à suivre une fois votre affaire fermée.

Après la fermeture du dossier

Si l’autre utilisateur et vous avez résolu votre problème et reçu un accord de règlement, vous devez tous deux vous y conformer. Toutefois, si l’un des utilisateurs ne respecte pas l’accord établi, vous pouvez déposer une nouvelle requête auprès du TASC pour obtenir une ordonnance qui l’obligera à se conformer.
Si vous avez reçu une ordonnance, une décision ou une ordonnance sur consentement du TASC, les deux utilisateurs doivent s’y conformer. Toutefois, si l’un des utilisateurs ne respecte pas l’ordonnance, vous devrez peut-être prendre des mesures pour la mettre à exécution.

Pour en savoir plus, lisez la section ci-dessous portant sur l’exécution d’une ordonnance.

Si votre requête a été rejetée parce que vous avez raté une échéance ou que vous n’avez pas suivi les consignes du TASC, il est parfois possible de déposer une nouvelle requête. En effet, dans un tel cas, le TASC n’a pas encore rendu d’ordonnance ou de décision sur les questions soulevées.

Si votre requête a été rejetée parce que les problèmes en question vont au-delà de la compétence du TASC, vous souhaiterez peut-être obtenir des conseils juridiques avant de déposer une nouvelle requête.

Si votre dossier a été fermé parce que vous vous en êtes retiré, vous pouvez probablement le déposer de nouveau auprès du TASC. C’est parce que le TASC n’a pas rendu d’ordonnance ni de décision au sujet du différend que vous avez soulevé.
L’exécution a lieu devant les tribunaux et non par le biais du TASC. Le TASC ne peut pas vous aider dans l’exécution d’une ordonnance reçue.

Vous devrez peut-être vous adresser à la Cour des petites créances ou à la Cour supérieure de justice pour obtenir de l’aide à cet égard. Depuis le 1er janvier 2020, la Cour des petites créances impose une limite monétaire de 35 000 $. Pour les montants supérieurs à 35 000 $, vous devrez présenter votre demande à la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario.

La Cour des petites créances est une division de la Cour supérieure de justice de l’Ontario.

Si vous souhaitez faire exécuter une ordonnance, nous vous recommandons d’abord de consulter le guide intitulé Guide sur la façon d’obtenir des résultats après le jugement, qui décrit les différentes procédures d’exécution disponibles à la Cour des petites créances.

Si vous estimez que le Tribunal de l’autorité du secteur des condominiums (TASC) a fait une erreur lors d’une ordonnance ou d’une décision, vous disposez de deux façons pour demander au tribunal de revoir cette ordonnance ou cette décision :

  1. Interjeter appel de la décision du TASC auprès de la Cour divisionnaire
  2. Déposer une demande de révision judiciaire de la décision du TASC auprès de la Cour divisionnaire.

Le dépôt d’un appel ou d’une demande de révision judiciaire peut être complexe, demander beaucoup de temps et être coûteux. Si vous songez à déposer une demande de révision judiciaire, vous auriez intérêt à demander des conseils d’un professionnel du droit.

Remarque : Cette page Web fournit des renseignements généraux sur ces deux procédures et sur la façon de demander la révision d’une décision. Elle ne doit pas être lue ni interprétée comme fournissant un avis juridique. Pour obtenir des conseils juridiques, vous devriez consulter une personne autorisée par le Barreau de l’Ontario.

Après la fermeture du dossier

Interjeter appel d’une décision du TASC

En vertu de la Loi de 1998 sur les condominiums (la « Loi »), une partie à une affaire devant le TASC peut interjeter appel d’une décision ou d’une ordonnance émise par le TASC devant la Cour divisionnaire sur une question de droit en vertu de l’article 1.46(2) de la Loi.

Étant donné que la Loi stipule que vous ne pouvez interjeter appel que sur une question de droit, vous ne pouvez pas le faire simplement parce que vous n’aimez pas le résultat de votre cause. Vous n’aurez pas l’occasion de plaider à nouveau votre cause lors de l’appel. Votre appel doit plutôt porter sur une erreur que vous croyez que le TASC a faite en appliquant la loi ou un principe juridique dans votre cause (p. ex. si vous pensez que le TASC a mal interprété ou mal appliqué la loi).

Les appels doivent être déposés dans les 30 jours suivant la date de l’ordonnance ou de la décision, que vous pourrez trouver en haut ou en bas du document sur l’ordonnance ou la décision. Le TASC n’a pas la compétence de prolonger cette période.
Pour interjeter appel, vous devrez déposer un avis d’appel auprès de la Cour divisionnaire, qui est une division de la Cour supérieure de justice. La Cour a des règles que vous devrez suivre, y compris des règles au sujet des formulaires à utiliser, des délais à respecter et de la façon de livrer des documents.

Vous trouverez des renseignements sur la procédure d’appel, ainsi que des exemplaires des formulaires que vous devrez déposer pour interjeter appel sur le site Web du ministère du Procureur général. Vous devriez également consulter le Guide sur les appels interjetés devant la Cour divisionnaire du ministère du Procureur général.

Pour des demandes générales de renseignements par téléphone, vous pouvez appeler le ministère du Procureur général au 1 800 518-7901.

Au moment de déposer votre appel, on vous demandera peut-être de soumettre une copie du dossier de votre cause. Pour demander une copie du dossier de votre cause, vous pouvez nous envoyer un courriel à l’adresse : catinfo@condoauthorityontario.ca.

Pour obtenir une transcription de toute partie d’une audience du TASC qui a eu lieu en dehors du système de règlement des différends en ligne du TASC, vous devrez communiquer avec un sténographe judiciaire certifié. Le TASC enverra le dossier de l’audience directement au sténographe judiciaire de votre choix. Les mesures afférentes au coût et à la livraison de la transcription sont établies entre vous et le sténographe judiciaire.

  • Les appels d’une décision ou d’une ordonnance du TASC ne peuvent être interjetés que sur une question de droit.
  • Si vous interjetez appel, vous devez vous conformer aux règles et aux procédures de la Cour divisionnaire.
  • Vous ne disposez que de 30 jours suivant la date de la décision pour déposer votre appel.

Après la fermeture du dossier

Déposer une demande de révision judiciaire d’une décision du TASC

Une partie à une cause du TASC peut déposer une demande de révision judiciaire de la décision du TASC auprès de la Cour divisionnaire en vertu de la Loir sur la procédure de révision judiciaire (LPRJ).

Une révision judiciaire portera généralement sur le processus et les procédures suivis par le TASC pour tenir l’audience ou pour parvenir à sa décision (p. ex. si les utilisateurs n’ont pas eu l’occasion de présenter des preuves sur une question pertinente ou si le TASC a conclu qu’un événement s’est produit ou pas sans aucune preuve pour appuyer une telle conclusion).

En vertu de la LPRJ, le tribunal a l’autorité pour annuler une décision du TASC s’il décide que le TASC a fait une erreur de droit, a formulé une conclusion en l’absence de preuve ou lorsque le TASC a assumé ou exercé un pouvoir qui ne lui est pas accordé en vertu de la Loi de 1998 sur les condominiums.

Il n’y a aucun délai pour déposer une demande de révision judiciaire dans la LPRJ ni dans les Règles des procédures civiles. La Cour peut plutôt décider de rejeter une demande de révision judiciaire parce qu’elle a été retardée. Cela signifie que vous devriez agir rapidement si vous songez à déposer une demande de révision judiciaire.

En règle générale, il est préférable de déposer votre demande dans les 30 jours suivant la date de la décision du TASC.

Au moment de déposer une demande de révision judiciaire, on vous demandera peut-être de soumettre une copie du dossier de votre cause. Pour demander une copie du dossier de votre cause, vous pouvez nous envoyer un courriel à l’adresse : catinfo@condoauthorityontario.ca.

Pour obtenir une transcription de toute partie d’une audience du TASC qui a eu lieu en dehors du système de règlement des différends en ligne du TASC, vous devrez communiquer avec un sténographe judiciaire certifié. Le TASC enverra le dossier de l’audience directement au sténographe judiciaire de votre choix. Les mesures afférentes au coût et à la livraison de la transcription sont établies entre vous et le sténographe judiciaire.

  • Le but d’une demande de révision judiciaire est de vous assurer que le TASC a respecté la loi en prenant sa décision et que toutes les parties ont eu une occasion équitable de participer à l’audience, et non pas de plaider à nouveau votre cause.
  • Si vous déposez une demande de révision judiciaire, vous devez vous conformer aux règles et aux procédures de la Cour divisionnaire.
  • Il n’y a aucun délai ferme pour déposer une demande de révision judiciaire, mais les demandes peuvent être rejetées si la Cour estime qu’elles sont déposées indûment en retard.