Woman sitting on her kitchen table on her laptop in her condo

Condominium directors play a critical role in making sure that the condo corporation and its assets are well managed and maintained.  A condo board operates on behalf of all owners in the condominium, and is often responsible for hundreds of thousands, if not millions of dollars in operating a condominium.In addition to providing good governance for the corporation, an effective board fosters a positive condominium community culture. 

Given this important role, under Ontario Regulation 48/01 of the Condominium Act, 1998, all directors appointed, elected, or re-elected on or after November 1, 2017 are required to complete the training program provided by the Condominium Authority of Ontario (CAO) within six months of their appointment, election or re-election (Please see Legal Requirements for Directors below for more information).

The CAO Director Training Program is provided online and free-of charge, and is also available to condominium owners, residents, managers and the broader condominium community.

Feedback on the training has been very positive, with an average of 88% of survey respondents reporting very high satisfaction and over 95% would recommend the training.

The CAO’s Director Training Program consists of 21 short e-modules covering important topics that are relevant to condo board directors.  The online modules are short, easy to follow, and include knowledge checks that provide multiple opportunities to answer correctly before moving on to new content. There is no pass/fail exam.

The modules range in length from approximately 10 to 20 minutes at audio speed. The entire training program will take between three to six hours to complete, depending on whether you listen to the audio recording or read the transcript.

View a detailed overview of each module

Legal Requirements – Condo Director Training

Mandatory training

Section 11.7 of Ontario Regulation 48/01 sets out the requirement for directors appointed, elected, or re-elected on or after November 1, 2017 to complete the training program provided by the CAO within six months of the date of their appointment, election or re-election.

Directors do not have to re-take the training if they completed the CAO Director Training Program within the preceding seven (7) years. 

Sample scenario: A condominium owner completed the training in December 2017, and then is elected to the board for the first time in July 2019 for a three-year term, and re-elected in July 2022 for another three-year term ending July 2025.  This director would not be required to take the training again during the first two terms, but would be required to take the training again if elected, re-elected or appointed to the board after the second term ends in 2025.

Please note that training courses completed through any organization other than the CAO cannot be applied to these new director training legal requirements.

Exemption

Section 11.9 of Ontario Regulation 48/01 sets out that directors appointed by a developer or elected by owners to the pre-turnover board (that is controlled by the developer) are exempt from the mandatory training requirement.  Once a turn-over meeting has been held, the newly elected and/or appointed directors must complete the CAO’s mandatory training within six months.

Evidence of Completion

Section 11.8 of Ontario Regulation 48/01 sets out the requirement related to evidence of completion.  To fulfill this requirement, the CAO’s system maintains a permanent record of when directors have completed the online CAO Director Training Program on the “Contacts” page of the corporation’s profile.  

Directors (and all other people who complete the training) can always access their electronic certificate of completion when logged in to the CAO Director Training Program.  This electronic certificate of completion can be downloaded and saved as a PDF file or printed. 

Legislated Deadline Missed

I. Consequences

If a director is appointed, elected or re-elected on or after November 1, 2017, and does not complete the mandatory director training within six months of their appointment, election or re-election date, they are immediately and automatically disqualified and cease to be a director under clause 29 (2) (e) of the Act and 11.7 (1) (4) of Ontario Regulation 48/01. This means that the person:

  • Can no longer attend board meetings as a member of the board.
  • No longer counts towards quorum of the board.
  • Cannot vote on matters before the board.
  • Cannot be indemnified by the corporation against liability and costs as set out in section 38 of the Act.
Note:
  1. The CAO does not have the authority to extend the six-month deadline under any circumstances.
  2. If one or more directors who missed the mandatory training deadline transacted board business after they ceased to be director, the corporation should seek legal advice as there are many factors to consider, including whether subsection 37 (2) of the Condominium Act, 1998 regarding validity of acts by the director applies to the situation.

II. Corporation legally required to advise all owners and the CAO

If a director is disqualified for failing to complete the mandatory training within the deadline, the corporation must ensure that this individual and any remaining board members are aware of the consequences and must:

III. Options for the Corporation to fill one or more vacancies on the board

Please note that any appointment or election of a director to the board must comply with all relevant provisions of the Act and its regulations, including section 11.7(4) of O. Reg 48/01 regarding a former director who has been disqualified for not completing the mandatory training (see Section IV below).
 
  • If the board still has quorum, it can decide whether or not to appoint a director to fill the vacancy until an election can be held at the next annual general meeting or earlier owners’ meeting.
  • If the board no longer has quorum, the remaining directors must call and hold a meeting of the owners to elect one or more directors to serve the remaining term of the vacant position(s) within 30 days of losing the quorum.
  • If all the directors on the board missed the mandatory training deadline, the corporation no longer has a board of directors and therefore an owner, who may be a former director, must call a meeting of the owners to elect a new board of directors.

IV. Can a former director who has been disqualified for failing to complete the mandatory director training serve on the corporation’s board again?

Yes, but only after they complete the mandatory director training to resolve the reason for disqualification from being a director under section 29(2) of the Act.

Section 11.7(4) of O. Reg. 48/01 requires that the mandatory training be completed within six months of the earlier of the day that the person is elected or appointed to the board.  This means that everyone must complete the training within six months of their first appointment/election/re-election on or after November 1, 2017.

Therefore, any former director who has been disqualified for failing to complete mandatory director training within the first six-month period must first complete the training before being eligible for any subsequent appointment or election to the board. 

Note: once the mandatory training is completed, directors who are subsequently appointed/elected/re-elected do not need to take the training again if the training was completed within the preceding seven years.

Login instructions for condo owners, residents, and the public

The CAO Condominium Director Training Program is available free of charge to condo owners, residents and members of the public. If you do not have an account with the CAO, then you will be asked to create one when you access the training. Create an account with the CAO if you would like to take the condominium director training.

Login instructions for condo directors

If you do not follow these instructions, any training you complete may not be captured by the system as part of your completion record and therefore, you may have to repeat the training using a proper CAO account. 

If you already have an existing account with the CAO:

To complete the training, please log in to your CAO account that is associated with your condo corporation. Do not create a second account to access the training. If you do, the system will not be able to automatically track whether you have completed the training.

If you do not have an existing account with the CAO:

Please first check whether you have received an email invitation to create an account from the CAO, and if you have, follow the instructions included in the email. An email invitation is sent when a director is added by the condo corporation to the corporation’s profile through filing a Condo Return or a Notice of Change.

If you have not yet received an email invitation to create an account (you have not yet been added to a corporation’s profile through the filing of a condo return or notice of change), you can create an account now in order to start the director training. However, you will need to ensure that you use the same account when redeeming the invitation code that will be emailed to you once you have been added to the corporation’s profile. Click here for easy to follow step-by-step instructions on how to create a CAO account.

If you have any questions about creating a CAO account or the CAO’s online Director Training Program please contact the CAO at: info@condoauthorityontario.ca or please call us at 416-901-9356 in the GTA or toll-free at 1-800-854-9014.

To use an iPad to access the training, you must first download and install Articulate Mobile Player, which is available for free through the App Store.

Access condominium director training

Femme utilisant son ordinateur portable à sa table de cuisine, dans son condominium

Les administrateurs de condominiums jouent un rôle essentiel dans la bonne gestion et l'entretien de la copropriété et de ses structures. Le conseil d’administration, exploité au nom de tous les propriétaires de l’immeuble, est responsable d’assurer la bonne gouvernance de l’association, ce qui représente des centaines de milliers, voire des millions de dollars, et de promouvoir une culture communautaire positive. 

Afin de tenir compte de l’importance de ce rôle, le Règlement de l’Ontario 48/01 de la Loi de 1998 sur les condominiums exige que tous les administrateurs nommés, élus ou réélus à compter du 1er novembre 2017 suivent le programme de formation offert par l’Office ontarien du secteur des condominiums (OOSC) dans un délai de six mois suivant leur nomination, élection ou réélection. (Veuillez vous reporter aux Exigences juridiques à l’intention des administrateurs plus bas pour en savoir plus.) 

Le programme de formation des administrateurs de l’OOSC est offert en ligne et gratuitement, et est mis à la disposition des propriétaires, des résidents, des gestionnaires et de l’ensemble de la communauté condominiale. 

Les commentaires reçus sur la formation ont été très favorables, les répondants au sondage ayant indiqué leur très grande satisfaction selon une moyenne de 88 p. cent et plus de 95 p. cent recommanderaient la formation.

Le programme de formation des administrateurs de l’OOSC compte 21 courts modules électroniques qui abordent des sujets d’importance qui sont pertinents pour les administrateurs de condominiums. Les modules en ligne sont brefs, faciles à suivre et comportent des évaluations des connaissances qui offrent de nombreuses possibilités de valider les connaissances avant de passer au module suivant. Il n’y a pas d’examen avec un seuil de passage.   

Les modules varient en longueur de 10 à 20 minutes environ, à la vitesse audio normale. L’ensemble du programme de formation nécessitera entre trois et six heures, tout dépendant si vous écoutiez l’enregistrement audio ou que vous lisiez la transcription.

Afficher un aperçu détaillé de chaque module.

Exigences juridiques – Formation des administrateurs de condominiums

Formation obligatoire

L’article 11.7 du Règlement de l’Ontario 48/01 stipule que les administrateurs nommés, élus ou réélus à compter du 1er novembre 2017 suivent le programme de formation offert par l’Office ontarien du secteur des condominiums (OOSC) dans un délai de six mois suivant la date de leur nomination, élection ou réélection.

La formation obligatoire des administrateurs ne s’applique pas s’ils ont déjà suivi ce programme au cours des sept (7) années précédentes.

Exemple de cas :  Un propriétaire de condominium a suivi la formation en décembre 2017, et est ensuite élu au conseil d’administration pour la première fois en juillet 2019 pour un mandat d’une durée de trois ans, et réélu en juillet 2022 pour un autre mandat de trois ans prenant fin en juillet 2025. Dans le cas présent, l’administrateur ne serait pas tenu de suivre de nouveau la formation pendant ses deux premiers mandats, mais devrait le faire s’il est élu, réélu ou nommé au conseil d’administration après la fin de son deuxième mandat en 2025.       

Veuillez prendre note que les cours de formation suivis par l’entremise de toute autre organisation que l’OOSC ne s’appliquent pas à ces nouvelles exigences juridiques visant la formation des administrateurs.

Exception

L’article 11.9 du Règlement de l’Ontario 48/01 stipule que les administrateurs nommés par un promoteur ou élus par les propriétaires pour siéger au conseil antérieur au transfert des pouvoirs (qui est régi par le promoteur) sont soustraits à l’exigence de formation obligatoire. Une fois que l’assemblée destinée au transfert des pouvoirs a été tenue, les administrateurs nouvellement élus et/ou nommés doivent suivre la formation obligatoire de l’OOSC dans un délai de six mois.

Certificat d’achèvement

L’article 11.8 du Règlement de l’Ontario 48/01 établit l’exigence liée au certificat d’achèvement. Aux fins de cette exigence, l’OOSC tient un dossier permanent des dates d’achèvement du programme de formation des administrateurs dans son système en ligne sur la page « Contacts » du profil de l’association.     

Les administrateurs (et toutes les autres personnes qui suivent la formation) peuvent avoir accès en tout temps à leur certificat électronique d’achèvement lors de la connexion au système du programme de formation des administrateurs de l’OOSC. Ce certificat électronique d’achèvement peut être téléchargé et sauvegardé dans un format de document PDF et imprimé.    

Délai prescrit par la loi échu

I. Conséquences

Si un administrateur est nommé, élu ou réélu le 1er novembre 2017 ou après cette date, et qu’il ne suit pas la formation obligatoire des administrateurs dans un délai de six mois suivant la date de sa nomination, de son élection ou de sa réélection, il sera immédiatement et automatiquement disqualifié et cessera d’agir à titre d’administrateur en vertu de l’alinéa 29 (2) (e) de la Loi et du paragraphe 11.7 (1) (4) du Règlement de l’Ontario 48/01. Cela signifie que cette personne :

  • ne peut plus assister aux réunions du conseil;
  • n’est plus prise en compte dans le quorum du conseil;
  • ne peut plus se prononcer par vote sur les dossiers présentés au conseil;
  • ne peut être indemnisée par l’association de la responsabilité et des frais.

Remarque : 

  1. Veuillez prendre note que l’OOSC n’a pas le pouvoir de prolonger le délai de six mois en aucune circonstance.
  2. Remarque : Si un ou des administrateurs ayant manqué le délai de la formation obligatoire se sont occupés d’affaires relatives au conseil d’administration après avoir cessé d’être administrateurs, l’association condominiale devrait solliciter des conseils juridiques, car de nombreux facteurs sont à considérer, y compris la question de savoir si le paragraphe 37 (2) de la Loi de 1998 sur les condominiums au sujet de la validité des actes des administrateurs s’applique à cette situation.

II. L’association condominiale est légalement tenue d’aviser tous les propriétaires et l’OOSC

Si un administrateur est disqualifié parce qu’il n’a pas suivi la formation obligatoire dans le délai prescrit, l’association condominiale doit s’assurer que cette personne et tous les autres membres du conseil sont au courant des conséquences et doit :

  • déposer un avis de changement auprès de l’OOSC visant à retirer l’administrateur qui a été démis de ses fonctions du profil de l’association condominiale, ce qui mettra automatiquement à jour le registre public de l’OOSC;
  • faire parvenir à tous les propriétaires une Mise à jour du certificat de renseignements, lequel est un formulaire obligatoire du gouvernement de l’Ontario, afin de les informer du ou des changements des administrateurs de l’association.

III. Options permettant à l’association condominiale de pourvoir un ou plusieurs postes vacants au sein du conseil d’administration

Veuillez prendre note que toute nomination ou élection d’un administrateur au conseil doit être conforme à toutes les dispositions pertinentes de la Loi et de son règlement, y compris le paragraphe 11.7 (4) du Règlement de l’Ontario 48/01 concernant un ancien administrateur qui a été disqualifié pour ne pas avoir suivi la formation obligatoire (voir la section IV ci-dessous).

  • Si le conseil d’administration a encore le quorum, il peut décider de nommer ou non un administrateur afin de pourvoir le poste vacant jusqu’à la tenue d’une élection lors de la prochaine assemblée générale annuelle.
  • Si le conseil d’administration n’a plus le quorum, les administrateurs qui demeurent doivent, au plus tard 30 jours après avoir perdu le quorum, convoquer et tenir une assemblée des propriétaires en vue d’élire un ou plusieurs administrateurs pour le reste du mandat du ou des postes vacants.
  • Si tous les administrateurs du conseil d’administration ont manqué le délai de la formation obligatoire, l’association condominiale n’a plus de conseil d’administration et, par conséquent, un propriétaire, qui peut être un ancien administrateur, doit convoquer une assemblée des propriétaires afin d’élire le nouveau conseil d’administration.

IV. Un ancien administrateur qui a été disqualifié parce qu’il n’a pas suivi la formation obligatoire des administrateurs peut-il de nouveau siéger au conseil d’administration de l’association condominiale?

Oui, mais seulement après avoir terminé la formation obligatoire des administrateurs afin de résoudre le motif d’inhabilité d’agir à titre d’administrateur en vertu de l’article 29 (2) de la Loi.

Le paragraphe 11.7 (4) du Règlement de l’Ontario 48/01 exige que la formation obligatoire soit suivie dans un délai de six mois suivant le premier jour où la personne est élue ou nommée au conseil. Cela signifie que tout un chacun doit suivre la formation dans un délai de six mois suivant sa première nomination, élection ou réélection le 1er novembre 2017 ou après cette date.

Par conséquent, tout ancien administrateur qui a été disqualifié pour avoir omis de suivre la formation obligatoire des administrateurs dans les six premiers mois doit d’abord suivre la formation avant d’être admissible à toute nomination ou élection ultérieure au conseil. 

Remarque : Une fois la formation obligatoire terminée, les administrateurs qui sont par la suite nommés, élus ou réélus n’ont pas à suivre de nouveau la formation si celle-ci a été suivie au cours des sept années précédentes.

Instructions de connexion pour les propriétaires de condominiums, les résidents et les membres du public

Le programme de formation des administrateurs de condominiums de l’OOSC est offert gratuitement aux propriétaires de condominiums, aux résidents et aux membres du public. Si vous n'avez pas de compte avec l'OOSC, vous devrez en créer un pour accéder à la formation. Créez un compte auprès de l'OOSC si vous désirez suivre la formation à l'intention de l'administrateur de condominiums

Instructions de connexion pour les administrateurs de condominiums

Si vous ne suivez pas les instructions, il se peut que la formation que vous avez suivie ne puisse pas être prise en compte par le système dans le cadre de votre dossier d’achèvement, et il se peut donc que vous soyez amené à refaire la formation en utilisant votre propre compte de l’OOSC.

Si vous avez déjà un compte avec l’OOSC :

Pour suivre la formation, veuillez ouvrir une session dans votre compte l'OOSC associé à votre société d'immeuble en copropriété. Ne créez pas un deuxième compte pour accéder à la formation. Si vous le faites, le système pourrait ne pas être en mesure de déterminer automatiquement si vous avez suivi la formation ou non. 

Si vous n’avez pas un compte avec l’OOSC :

Veuillez d’abord vérifier si vous avez reçu par courriel une invitation à créer un compte de l’Office ontarien du secteur des condominiums. Si c’est le cas, suivez les instructions contenues dans ce courriel. L’OOSC fait parvenir une invitation chaque fois qu’une association condominiale mentionne un nouvel administrateur dans le profil de l’association au moyen du rapport ou l’avis de changement qu’elle dépose.

Si vous n’avez pas encore reçu cette invitation (parce que votre nom ne figure pas encore dans le profil de l’association au moyen du rapport ou de l’avis de changement qu’elle dépose), vous pouvez vous créer un compte qui vous permettra de commencer votre formation. Vous devrez toutefois utiliser le même compte lorsque vous utiliserez le code d’invitation que vous recevrez par courriel lorsque votre nom figurera dans le profil de votre association. Cliquez ici pour obtenir des directives simples concernant les étapes à suivre pour créer ce compte.  

Si vous avez des questions concernant la création de votre compte OOSC ou par rapport à la Formation des Administrateurs de l’OOSC en ligne, veuillez contacter l’OOSC au : info@condoauthorityontario.ca ou appelez au 416-901-9356 dans la RGT ou notre numéro sans frais au 1-800-854-9014.

 

Si vous souhaitez utiliser un iPad pour accéder à la formation, vous devez premièrement télécharger et installer  Articulate Mobile Player, celui-ci est gratuit et disponible sur App Store.

Accéder à la formation des administrateurs de condominiums