Beginning January 7, all condominium corporations can file their 2019-2020 annual returns with the Condominium Authority of Ontario (CAO). The CAO will also be implementing a temporary 25 per cent adjustment in its annual assessments to condominium corporations for the 2019-2020 year. This temporary reduction demonstrates the CAO’s commitment to operating efficiently, to providing good value for money and to assessing corporations only for the funds needed to provide our services.

All condo corporations are legally required to pay assessments annually to the CAO. The CAO set its fees at $1 per voting unit per month (i.e. $12 per voting unit per year) after undertaking a comprehensive fee consultation in the summer of 2017.

Under the Condominium Act, 1998, the CAO has the authority to assess condominium corporations to fund its services. The temporary adjustment of 25 per cent against the total assessment amount for the year ahead is being applied because the CAO’s projected costs for delivering its services will be less than the annual budget, owing in part to the limited jurisdiction of the Condominium Authority Tribunal to receive only records disputes at this time.

As the CAO continues to grow and enhance its services to meet the needs of condo communities, we are committed to delivering value and making a difference to Ontario’s condo sector. The CAO continues to work hard to deliver on its mandate while being fiscally responsible in order to stay within the base fee amount of $1 per voting unit per month going forward.

This temporary reduction will automatically be applied against the total assessment amount owing for each corporation and will appear on each corporation’s annual invoice.

À compter du 7 janvier, toutes les associations condominiales peuvent déposer leurs rapports annuels de 2019-2020 auprès de l’Office ontarien du secteur des condominiums (OOSC). L’OOSC appliquera en outre, en 2019-2020, une ajustement  temporaire de 25 p. 100 aux droits annuels exigés des associations condominiales. Cette réduction temporaire témoigne de l’engagement de l’OOSC d’assurer un fonctionnement efficace de l’organisation, de fournir un bon rapport qualité-prix et d’imposer aux associations des droits seulement pour financer la prestation de ses services.

Toutes les associations condominiales ont l’obligation légale de verser des droits annuels à l’OOSC. Après avoir mené une vaste consultation sur les droits à l’été 2017, l’OOSC a établi les droits à 1 $ par partie privative votante par mois (c.-à-d. à 12 $ par partie privative votante par année).

Selon la Loi de 1998 sur les condominiums, l’OOSC a le pouvoir d’imposer des droits aux associations condominiales pour financer ses services. L’OOSC a décidé d’appliquer une ajustement temporaire de 25 p. 100 du montant total des droits pour la prochaine année parce que les coûts prévus pour la prestation de ses services seront inférieurs au budget annuel, en partie parce que le Tribunal de l’Office ontarien du secteur des condominiums ne peut recevoir que des plaintes liées à un différend concernant les dossiers d’une association condominiale.

L’OOSC, qui continue de se développer et qui offre toujours plus de services pour répondre aux besoins des associations condominiales, est déterminé à apporter une valeur ajoutée et à faire une différence pour le secteur ontarien des condominiums. L’OOSC travaille sans cesse avec ardeur afin de remplir son mandat, tout en se montrant responsable sur le plan financier afin de maintenir le tarif de base établi à 1 $ par partie privative votante par mois.  

Cette réduction temporaire sera automatiquement appliquée au montant total des droits imposés à chaque association et figurera sur la facture annuelle de l’association.