Welcome to the CAO’s guided steps to common issues. The CAO provides the information, tools, and templates on these pages to help condominium communities understand issues, and to work together to resolve them collaboratively before they escalate into disputes. For situations where condo communities are unable to resolve their issues collaboratively, the CAO also provides information on the next steps they can take, including filing a case with the Condominium Authority Tribunal (CAT). The CAT is an online tribunal dedicated to resolving condo disputes through its three-stage dispute resolution process.

  • Step #1 - Understanding the Issue: This step provides a high-level overview of the issue, and examples of common types of issues that arise in condos.
  • Step #2 – Legal Considerations: This step provides a summary of the relevant legal considerations, including references to the relevant provisions of the Condominium Act, 1998, and its regulations. The information on this page will also identify when your condominium corporation’s declaration, by-laws, or rules might be relevant.
  • Step #3 – Solutions: This step provides step-by-step instructions that condo communities can take to resolve issues collaboratively before they escalate into disputes. This step also provides helpful resources, like letter and email templates.
  • Step #4 – Tribunal: If the information and solutions in Steps 1-3 don’t help you to resolve your issue, this step provides an overview of your next steps, including filing a case with the Condominium Authority Tribunal (CAT).

If you have any questions about any of the information on the CAO’s guided steps to common issues, please contact us directly.

Bienvenue aux étapes guidées de l’OOSC pour régler les différends communs. L’OOSC offre de l’information, des outils et des modèles sur ces pages afin d’aider les communautés condominiales à mieux comprendre les différends et à collaborer dans le but de les régler avant qu’ils dégénèrent en conflits. Dans les situations où les communautés condominiales sont incapables de régler leurs différends par la collaboration, l’OOSC offre également de l’information sur les prochaines étapes à suivre, y compris intenter une poursuite devant le Tribunal de l'autorité du secteur des condominiums (TASC). Le TASC est un tribunal en ligne consacré à la résolution des différends au moyen de son processus de résolution des différends à trois étapes.  

  • Étape no 1 – Compréhension du différend : Cette étape offre un aperçu de haut niveau du différend et des exemples de différends communs qui surviennent dans les condominiums.
  • Étape no 2 – Considérations juridiques : Cette étape offre un résumé des considérations juridiques pertinentes, y compris des renvois aux dispositions pertinentes de la Loi de 1998 sur les condominiums et son Règlement. L’information sur cette page déterminera également le moment où la déclaration, les règlements ou les règles de votre société de condominiums pourraient être pertinents.
  • Étape no 3 – Solutions : Cette étape offre des instructions par étapes que peuvent suivre les communautés condominiales pour régler les différends par la collaboration avant qu’ils dégénèrent en conflits. Cette étape offre également des ressources utiles, comme des modèles de lettre et de courriel.
  • Étape no 4 – Tribunal : Si l’information et les solutions aux étapes 1 à 3 ne vous aident pas à régler votre différend, la présente étape offre un aperçu des étapes supplémentaires à suivre, y compris intenter une poursuite devant le Tribunal de l'autorité du secteur des condominiums (TASC).

Si vous avez des questions au sujet des renseignements sur les étapes guidées de l’OOSC pour régler les différends communs, veuillez communiquer directement avec nous.