Our Commitment

CAO encourages all persons to access and benefit from CAO services and participate in our work. We will strive to remove barriers and make our services, environment and culture respectful of the individual needs of people with different abilities.

Policies, Practices and Procedures

Communication

The CAO primarily offers information and communications to the public through its website. Through its online services, which has been designed to accommodate different communication needs, it will strive to meet the 4 pillars of accessibility as defined by the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines. Examples include:

  • providing text alternatives for all image content presented on a web page;
  • providing audio playback for all educational modules;
  • providing a mechanism to stop or pause an audio recording in all educational modules;
  • providing functionality that is fully responsive to any screen size; and
  • making all functionality available on a keyboard.

On an ongoing basis, the CAO is committed to improving upon the methods used to provide accommodations for those who need it. It is also committed to ensuring that all persons interacting with its services can obtain, use and benefit fairly and equitably from its programs and resources. For example, if a person is not able to provide publicly-sought after feedback using CAO’s online services, the CAO will provide a telephone agent so the feedback can be provided using a telephone.

For those who seek employment or would like to participate on the Board or other advisory groups, the CAO will use best efforts to make the appropriate accommodations. For example, when choosing a location to host a public event, the CAO will only select facilities that have met the accessibility requirements defined in the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005.

Assistive Devices and Measures

Assistive Devices and Measures are supports made available to improve access to services for persons with disabilities. Examples include wheel chair access, real-time captioning services, sign language interpreters as well as Telephone Teletypes to communicate with persons who are deaf or have difficulty hearing.

CAO will accommodate people with disabilities who use assistive devices or require additional measures when attending public hearings or participating in meetings. If a prospective employee or board member needs an assistive device or additional measure, the CAO will make the required modifications to its environment to accommodate these requests.

Use of Service Animals and Support Persons

CAO is committed to welcoming people with disabilities who are accompanied by a service animal to the areas where the CAO hosts meetings and other stakeholder events.

CAO is committed to welcoming people with disabilities who are accompanied by a support person. Any person with a disability who is accompanied by a support person will be allowed to enter CAO ’s premises with his or her support person.

Procedures

The CAO is committed to creating an environment that is respectful to all members of the public who seek access to its services. Procedures have been created to guide employees, board members and other third-party agents on how to:

  • interact and communicate with people with different disability related needs;.
  • interact with those who use an assistive device or require the assistance of a service animal or a support person;
  • assist a person with a disability who is having difficulty accessing CAO ’s services; and
  • provide safe evacuation for people with disabilities during an emergency.

Training for Staff and Board

All staff, volunteers and board members and any 3rd party contractor employed by the CAO will receive accessibility training on how to meet the needs and experiences of persons with disabilities. The following topics will be covered:

  • an overview of the Human Rights Code as it relates to persons with disabilities;
  • an overview of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 and the requirements of the customer service standard;
  • how to apply CAO ’s policies, practices and procedures relating to the customer service standard; and
  • how to follow CAO’s emergency management plan for protecting people with disabilities.

Further training will be provided when changes are made to these policies, practices and procedures.

Upon request, CAO will consult with the person making the request to provide publications and/or processes for receiving and responding to feedback in accessible formats and with communication supports, dependent upon document specifications. Every effort will be made to ensure that the accessible formats and communication supports provided take into account the person’s accessibility needs due to disability, and are provided at a cost no more than the regular cost charged to other persons.

Feedback

Individuals who would like to provide feedback on the way CAO provides services to persons with disabilities may do so by contacting CAO’s at:

Condominium Authority of Ontario

info@condoauthorityontario.ca
Customer Service Centre
357 Bay St
Toronto, ON M5H 2T7

Toll Free Telephone: TBD
Toll Free Fax: TBD

Modifications to this or other policies

CAO is committed to ensuring that its policies, practices and procedures promotes the dignity and independence of all persons with disabilities. Changes will not be made to this policy before considering the impact on persons with disabilities. All CAO policies respect and promote the dignity and independence of people with disabilities.

Questions about this policy

This policy exists to achieve service excellence to customers with disabilities. Questions about this policy may be directed to the Manager, Customer Service.

Notre engagement

L’OOSC invite toutes les personnes à accéder à ses services et à en tirer profit, ainsi qu’à prendre part à ses efforts. À ce titre, nous nous attachons à éliminer les obstacles et à adapter nos services, notre environnement et notre culture aux besoins particuliers des personnes ayant des capacités différentes.

Politiques, pratiques et procédures

Communication

L’OOSC diffuse principalement ses renseignements et ses communications au public par l’intermédiaire de son site Web. Grâce à ses services en ligne, conçus pour s’adapter à différents besoins en matière de communication, il entend respecter les quatre piliers établis dans les directives sur l’accessibilité du contenu Web. En voici quelques exemples :

  • Mise à disposition d’un texte secondaire pour le contenu graphique présenté sur toute page Web;
  • Mise à disposition d’une lecture audio pour tous les modules éducatifs;
  • Mécanisme d’arrêt des enregistrements audio dans tous les modules éducatifs;
  • Fonctionnalité entièrement adaptée à toute taille d’écran;
  • Compatibilité de l’ensemble des fonctionnalités avec l’utilisation d’un clavier.

L’OOSC s’engage à améliorer en permanence les méthodes utilisées pour proposer des adaptations à ceux qui en ont besoin. Il veille également à ce que tous ceux qui interagissent avec ses services puissent obtenir et utiliser ses programmes et ressources, et en profiter de façon équitable. Par exemple, si un membre du public n’était pas en mesure de fournir ses commentaires au moyen des services en ligne de l’OOSC, celui-ci mettrait à sa disposition un agent téléphonique, de sorte que les commentaires puissent être formulés au téléphone.

L’OOSC s’engage à déployer tous les efforts raisonnables pour apporter les ajustements nécessaires pour ceux qui cherchent un emploi ou qui souhaitent participer aux activités du conseil d’administration ou d’autres groupes consultatifs. Par exemple, lors de la sélection d’un lieu pour accueillir un événement public, l’OOSC exclura toute installation ne répondant pas aux exigences en matière d’accessibilité définies dans la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario.

Appareils et dispositifs d’aide

Les appareils et les dispositifs d’aide sont parfois utilisés par les personnes handicapées pour un meilleur accès aux services. Il peut s’agir, par exemple, de fauteuils roulants, de services de sous-titrage en temps réel, de services d’interprétation gestuelle ou encore de téléscripteurs permettant la communication avec des personnes sourdes ou qui ont de la difficulté à entendre.

L’OOSC adaptera ses services aux personnes handicapées qui utilisent de tels appareils ou qui ont besoin d’adaptations supplémentaires lors de la participation à des audiences publiques ou à des réunions. Si un employé ou un membre du conseil n’étant pas encore entré en fonction requiert un appareil ou un dispositif particulier, l’OOSC apportera les modifications nécessaires à son environnement afin de répondre à sa demande.

Utilisation d’animaux d’assistance et de personnes accompagnantes

L’OOSC accueille les personnes handicapées accompagnées d’un animal d’assistance aux endroits où il tient ses réunions ou autres événements avec ses intervenants.

L’OOSC accueille les personnes handicapées qui ont besoin d’une personne accompagnante. Toute personne handicapée est autorisée à entrer dans les locaux de l’OOSC avec cette personne.

Procédures

L’OOSC s’engage à créer un environnement respectueux de tous les membres du public qui souhaitent utiliser ses services. Des procédures ont été mises en place pour aider les employés, les membres du conseil d’administration et d’autres agents externes à mieux :

  • Interagir et communiquer avec les personnes ayant différents besoins liés à un handicap;
  • Interagir avec les personnes qui utilisent un dispositif d’aide ou qui ont besoin d’un animal d’assistance ou d’une personne accompagnante;
  • Aider les personnes handicapées qui ont de la difficulté à accéder aux services de l’OOSC;
  • Assurer l’évacuation sécuritaire des personnes handicapées en situation d’urgence.

Formation du personnel et du conseil d’administration

Tous les membres du personnel, les bénévoles et les membres du conseil d’administration, ainsi que tout sous-traitant employé par l’OOSC, recevront une formation sur l’accessibilité et sur la manière de répondre aux besoins des personnes handicapées, en fonction de leurs expériences particulières. Les sujets suivants seront abordés :

  • Aperçu du Code des droits de la personne en ce qui a trait aux personnes handicapées;
  • Aperçu de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario et des exigences de la norme de service à la clientèle;
  • Comment appliquer les politiques, pratiques et procédures de l’OOSC à l’égard de la norme de service à la clientèle;
  • Comment suivre le plan de gestion des situations d’urgence de l’OOSC pour protéger adéquatement les personnes handicapées.

Une formation supplémentaire sera administrée chaque fois que des modifications sont apportées à ces politiques, pratiques et procédures.

Sur demande, l’OOSC consultera l’auteur de la demande de publication et/ou de processus permettant la réception et la réponse à la rétroaction dans des formats accessibles, avec des aides à la communication le cas échéant, en fonction des caractéristiques du document. Tous les efforts seront faits pour que les formats accessibles et les aides à la communication prennent en compte les besoins d’accessibilité de la personne en fonction de son invalidité, et qu’ils soient fournis à un coût ne dépassant pas le coût ordinaire facturé à d’autres personnes.

Commentaires

Ceux qui désirent formuler des commentaires sur la façon dont l’OOSC fournit ses services aux personnes handicapées peuvent le faire en communiquant avec l’Office à l’adresse suivante :

Office ontarien du secteur des condominiums

info@condoauthorityontario.ca 

Téléphone – 416-901-9356
Sans frais – 1-(800) 854-9014


ATS (appareil de télécommunication pour personnes sourdes)

Service relais Bell

Modification de la présente ou d’autres politiques

L’OOSC veille à ce que ses politiques, pratiques et procédures favorisent la dignité et l’autonomie de toutes les personnes handicapées. Aucune modification ne sera apportée à cette politique sans d’abord étudier leur impact éventuel sur les personnes handicapées. Toutes les politiques de l’OOSC respectent et font la promotion de la dignité et de l’autonomie des personnes handicapées.

Questions au sujet de cette politique

Cette politique vise l’excellence du service offert aux clients handicapés. Toute question portant sur cette politique peut être adressée au gestionnaire du service à la clientèle.