Board of Directors

 The CAO is governed by an independent Board of Directors, composed of senior professionals with a range of expertise in the condo industry and condo law, administrative authorities, technology, and mediation.

The following individuals were invited by the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services (MGCS) to act as first directors to oversee the implementation activities and govern the CAO:

Tom Wright, Chair

Tom is the current Chair of the Condominium Authority of Ontario. He was Chair of the Condominium Authority Advisory Working Group.

He is currently Vice-Chair of the Resource Recovery and Productivity Authority Board of Directors. From 2014 to 2018 he served as Chair of the Bereavement Authority of Ontario and previously as Chair of the Ontario Film Authority Board of Directors. Tom was Chief Executive Officer and Registrar of the Real Estate Council of Ontario. From 1991 to 1997, he was Information and Privacy Commissioner for the Province of Ontario. A graduate of Queen’s University Law School, he was called to the Ontario Bar in 1975.


 

Frank D’Onofrio, Vice Chair

In his role as the Vice-Chair for the CAO, Frank is responsible for assisting the board chair in conducting his duties. He provides integral support to the CAO’s board of directors in conducting its duties.

Frank is currently the Distinguished Public Servant in Residence in the Department of Politics and Public Administration at Ryerson University. He is also a member of external advisory groups at Seneca College and Service Canada. Frank served in the Ontario Public Service for more than 30 years, during which time he worked in several senior executive positions at the Ministry of Transportation and Service Ontario. In 2012, he was appointed Deputy Minister and Chief Executive Officer of Service Ontario, until his retirement in 2014.

In addition to his extensive experience Frank also has an Honours Bachelor of Arts degree in Geography and Economics from the University of Toronto.

Armand Conant, Treasurer & Secretary

As the Treasurer and Secretary of the CAO, Armand attends to the financial and accounting matters of the Authority and manages the records of the board of directors.

Armand heads the condominium law department of the full-service law firm of Shibley Righton LLP and has practised condominium law for more than 25 years. He also teaches courses on condominium law and has written numerous articles on related subjects. He has served as the president of the Canadian Condominium Institute (Toronto), as well as on the boards of several other not-for-profit corporations. Armand was on the expert panel during the Condominium Act 1998 review and was a member of the
Condominium Authority Advisory Working Group.

Armand has a Bachelor of Engineering degree from the Royal Military College of Canada, and a Masters of Law from the Paris-Sorbonne University in France.

Genevieve Chornenki, Board Director

Genevieve has worked as mediator, arbitrator, and dispute resolution consultant since 1989, and the CAO relies on her extensive experience to serve the interests of Ontario’s condominium community.

In addition to her role as board director, Genevieve serves on the National Appeal and Audit Committee for the Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Institute of Canada, and the Chartered Mediator Accreditation Committee at the ADR Institute of Ontario. She was the founding chair of the ADR Section at the Ontario Bar Association and was a member of the Condominium Authority Advisory Working Group.

Genevieve holds a Master of Laws in ADR and was the recipient of the Ontario Bar Association’s Award of Excellence in alternative dispute resolution in 1999.

Lisa Vescio, Board Director

During her 36-year career with the Ontario Public Service, Lisa Vescio has held a wide range of senior positions across various ministries including Transportation, Community and Correctional Services, Finance and Government and Consumer Services.

As a seasoned director and leader, Lisa has had a consistent track record of delivering large, complex, multi-stakeholder and high priority initiatives, leading policy/legislative changes, championing culture change initiatives and managing operational as well as regulatory areas. 

Lisa graduated from the University of Toronto with a major in Political Science, has a Masters Certificate in Project Management from York University’s Schulich School of Business and a Project Management Professional (PMP) designation.   

Patricia Volker, Board Director

Patricia Volker, CPA, CA, CMA, ICD.D brings a wealth of experience to both public and private entities, with expertise in advisory, public accounting, banking and regulatory environments.  Trish serves on the ORNGE Board of Directors where she chairs the Finance and Audit Committee and is member of the Nominating and Governance Committee. She also chairs the audit committee of Labrador Iron Ore Royalty Corporation, a TSX listed company and was recently appointed to the board of Burlington Hydro Electric Inc.

Trish is President of her condominium corporation in Burlington, Ontario and is President of the Burlington Downtown Condominium Association.  Trish holds a Bachelor of Science from the University of Toronto and the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Chartered Directors.
 

Heather Zordel, Board Director

Heather Zordel is a partner at Gardiner Roberts LLP, focusing on corporate finance, securities regulatory compliance and corporate governance. In addition to her law practice, Heather is a Co-Director and a Course Director for the Osgoode Hall LL.M. (Securities Law) part-time program and teaches in legal professional development programs. She has a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Saskatchewan and a LL.B./J.D./LL.M. (Securities) from Osgoode Hall Law School. Currently she is a Bencher of the Law Society of Ontario and member of its Audit & Finance and Government Relations Committees, a part-time adjudicator for the Law Society Tribunal, and a Board and Audit Committee member for Toronto Hydro Corporation and the Lawyers’ Professional Indemnity Company (LawPro).

Conseil d’administration

L’OOSC est régi par un conseil d’administration indépendant, lequel est formé de professionnels chevronnés possédant une vaste expertise dans le secteur des condominiums, ainsi que des lois, des autorités administratives, de la technologie et de la médiation.

Les personnes suivantes ont été nommées par le ministère des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs à titre de membres du premier conseil d’administration, avec la responsabilité de superviser les activités de mise en œuvre et de gérer l’OOSC :

Tom Wright, président

Tom Wright siège actuellement à titre de président de l’Office ontarien du secteur des condominiums (OOSC). Il a été président du Groupe de travail consultatif de l’Office du secteur des condominiums.

Vice-président du conseil d’administration de l’Office de la productivité et de la récupération des ressources, M. Wright a siégé comme président de la Bereavement Authority of Ontario de 2014 à 2018; il a également présidé le conseil d’administration de l’Ontario Film Authority. En outre, M. Wright a occupé les postes de directeur général et registrateur du Real Estate Council of Ontario ainsi que de commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario de 1991 à 1997. Il est diplômé de la faculté de droit de l’Université Queen’s et a été reçu au Barreau de l’Ontario en 1975.

.

Frank D’Onofrio, vice-président

Frank D’Onofrio, vice-président de l’OOSC, est chargé d’assister le conseil dans l’accomplissement de ses fonctions. Il offre un soutien complet au conseil de l’Office.

M. D’Onofrio est actuellement fonctionnaire éminent en résidence au département de politique et d’administration publique de l’Université Ryerson. Il est également membre de groupes consultatifs externes au Collège Seneca et à Service Canada. Il a œuvré dans la fonction publique de l’Ontario pendant plus de 30 ans, durant lesquels il a occupé différents postes de haute direction au ministère des Transports et à Service Ontario. En 2012, il a été nommé sous-ministre et chef de la direction de Service Ontario, jusqu’à sa retraite en 2014.

En plus de sa grande expérience, il possède également un baccalauréat ès arts en géographie et en économie de l’Université de Toronto.

Armand Conant, trésorier et secrétaire

En tant que trésorier et secrétaire de l’OOSC, Armand Conant s’occupe des finances et de la comptabilité de l’association et gère les dossiers du conseil d’administration.

Il dirige le service de droit de la copropriété de Shibley Righton LLP, un cabinet d’avocats à service complet, et pratique le droit de la copropriété depuis plus de 25 ans. Il enseigne également le droit de la copropriété et est l’auteur de nombreux articles portant sur des sujets connexes. M. Conant a agi à titre de président de l’Institut canadien des condominiums (Toronto), et a siégé au conseil d’administration de plusieurs autres sociétés à but non lucratif. Il a fait partie du groupe d’experts chargé de l’examen de la Loi de 1998 sur les condominiums et a été membre du groupe de travail consultatif sur l’Office du secteur des condominiums.

M. Conant détient un baccalauréat en génie du Collège militaire royal du Canada et a obtenu sa maîtrise en droit à Paris-Sorbonne, en France.

Genevieve Chornenki, membre du conseil d’administration

Genevieve Chornenki est, depuis 1989, médiatrice, arbitre et conseillère en règlement de différends. L’OOSC s’appuie sur sa grande expérience pour agir dans l’intérêt de la communauté condominiale ontarienne.

En plus d’être membre du conseil d’administration, elle siège au comité national d’appel et de vérification de l’Institut d’arbitrage et de médiation du Canada, ainsi qu’au comité d’accréditation des médiateurs agréés de l’Institut d’arbitrage et de médiation de l’Ontario. Elle a été présidente fondatrice de la Section des mécanismes extrajudiciaires de règlement des conflits (MRC) de l’Association du Barreau de l’Ontario et a été membre du groupe de travail consultatif sur l’Office du secteur des condominiums.

Mme Chornenki détient une maîtrise en droit avec spécialisation en MRC et a reçu en 1999 le prix d’excellence décerné par l’Association du Barreau en Ontario en règlement extrajudiciaire des différends.

Lisa Vescio, membre du conseil d’administration

En 36 années de carrière au sein de la fonction publique ontarienne, Lisa Vescio a occupé une grande variété de postes de direction dans divers ministères, dont ceux du Transport, de la Sécurité communautaire et des services correctionnels, des Finances, et des Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs.

En tant que directrice et leader chevronnée, Mme Vescio a toujours su mettre en œuvre avec brio des initiatives complexes et de grande envergure, notamment en faisant appel à des intervenants multiples, en ayant des priorités élevées pour assurer un changement de culture ou encore pour gérer des questions opérationnelles ou réglementaires.

Mme Vescio détient un diplôme de l’Université de Toronto avec une majeure en sciences politiques, ainsi qu’un certificat de maîtrise en gestion de projet de la Schulich School of Business de l’Université York et une désignation de professionnel en gestion de projet (PMP).    

Patricia Volker, membre du conseil d’administration

Patricia Volker, CPA, CA, CMA, IAS.A met sa vaste expérience au service d’entités des secteurs public et privé, tout en offrant une expertise dans les domaines du conseil, de la comptabilité publique, des services bancaires et de la réglementation. Trish siège au Conseil d’administration d’Ornge, où elle est présidente du Comité des finances et de la vérification et membre du Comité de mise en candidature et de gouvernance. Elle est également présidente du Comité de vérification de Labrador Iron Ore Royalty Corporation, une société inscrite à la bourse TSX, et elle a récemment été nommée au Conseil d’administration de Burlington Hydro Electric Inc. Trish est présidente de son association condominiale à Burlington, en Ontario, et elle est présidente de la Burlington Downtown Condominium Association.

Trish est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences de l’Université de Toronto, et elle détient le titre IAS.A de l'Institut des administrateurs agréés.

Heather Zordel, membre du conseil d’administration

Heather Zordel est associée chez Gardiner Roberts s.r.l. et se spécialise dans la finance des entreprises, la conformité à la réglementation sur les valeurs mobilières, et la gouvernance des entreprises. Outre son travail de juriste, Heather est codirectrice et directrice de cours pour le programme à temps partiel à la Osgoode Hall LL.M. (droit des valeurs mobilières). Elle possède un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université de Saskatchewan et un LL.B./J.D./LL.M. en valeurs mobilières de la Osgoode Hall Law School. Elle est actuellement conseillère du Barreau de l’Ontario et membre de ses comités Audits et finances et Relations gouvernementales et affaires publiques, arbitre à temps partiel au Tribunal du Barreau, et membre du conseil et du comité des audits de Toronto Hydro et de la Lawyers’ Professional Indemnity Company (LAWPRO).